Skip to main content
nasen awards 2022 winners announced news image

nasen Awards 2022 - winners announced

nasen Award

Winners of nasen’s sixth annual Awards were revealed in a glittering celebration at the Grand Hotel in Birmingham on Friday (14th October 2022) with 18 schools, individuals and organisations winning accolades for their outstanding work to ensure that children and young people with special educational needs and/or disabilities (SEND) and learning differences reach their full potential.

The Awards are hosted by nasen – the National Association for Special Educational Needs and Disabilities – and supported by sponsors Scanning Pens and Axcis Education, as well as the official awards media partner, Schools Week. nasen is the leading membership charity that supports and champions those working with, and for, children and young people with SEND and learning differences.

Annamarie Hassall MBE, Chief Executive of nasen, said: “It has been a great honour to recognise and reward the people who are making a real difference for SEN, by hosting this fabulous event. We received an amazing number of nominations for the awards this year, and are thrilled to celebrate the inclusive work of individuals, teams and settings who go above and beyond, every day, to help children and young people thrive and achieve.

“In our 30th anniversary year, it feels right to be shining a light on the diligence, dedication and expertise being shown across the sector, and to proudly demonstrate what can be achieved when teams and individuals work together in inclusive ways. We very much hope the stories of our winners will inspire others to share their practice too.  Children and Young People with SEND have a right to an equitable education, to have choices and opportunities, lets continue to celebrate the  great work in the sector , and help strengthen our community’s sense of unity and collaboration. For children and young people, that means acceptance, awareness and belonging."

The nasen 2022 Award winners are:

Category Winner Sponsored by
Award for 16-25 Provision 2022
  • Harrison College
Education and Training Foundation (ETF)
Award for Co-production 2022
  • Lincolnshire Young Voices
Seashell Trust
Award for Early Years Provision 2022
  • Kids Planet SEND Team
  • SEND to Learn
Nursery World
Award for International Provision 2022
  • RA International School, Bonny Island, Nigeria
ICEP europe
Award for Learning Support Staff Member 2022        
  • Patricia Hetherington
Axcis Education
Award for Person of the Year 2022
  • Philippa Stobbs
Rockerbox News
Award for Primary Provision 2022
  • Westlea Primary School
Award for Publication 2022    
  • SENDcast
Award for Secondary Provision 2022
  • Upton-by-Chester High School
Award for SEND Leader 2022 
  • Pearl Barnes
National Education Union
Award for Specialist Provision 2022
  • Moon Hall School  
Christie & Co
Award for Teacher 2022 
  • Jemini Patel
Award for Teacher Development in Digital Accessibility 2022
  • Oldham College
Award for Technology 2022
  • Skylark Partnership AV1 Project
Scanning Pens
Award for Young Person Over 17 2022   
  • Faizan Sheikh
  • Joshua Earnshaw Potts
Seashell Trust
Award for Young Person Under 16 2022
  • Ashley Webber

Thank you to all those who submitted a nomination this year!