Skip to main content
scrabble type letters spelling out NEWS on a book

Changing the lives of children and young people with SEND - nasen Awards 2020 winners announced

Winners of nasen’s fourth annual Awards were revealed in an online celebration today (16th October 2020) with 13 outstanding schools, individuals and organisations winning accolades for their important work to ensure children and young people with special educational needs and/or disabilities (SEND) reach their full potential.

nasen, a charity that supports and champions those working with, and for, children and young people with special educational needs and disabilities (SEND) and learning differences, received a record number of nominations this year from across the globe.

Chief Executive of nasen, Professor Adam Boddison said: “We are delighted to announce our 2020 nasen award winners. It is an honour to recognise incredible schools, individuals and organisations who have achieved fantastic outcomes for children and young people with SEND going above and beyond in these challenging times.

The COVID-19 pandemic has greatly impacted all children and young people’s education. This has acutely impacted children and young people with SEND, their families and the professionals that support them. We want to share our thanks to all the winners for their dedication and are proud to spotlight their work and best practice to benefit the education and SEND sectors.”

nasen’s 2020 annual Awards winners include:



The nasen Award for Early Years Provision sponsored by Nursery World

The Lloyd Park Children’s Charity, Walthamstow

The nasen Award for Primary provision sponsored by GL Assessment

Wheldrake with Thorganby CE School, York

The nasen Award for Secondary provision sponsored by Nisai Group

The Autism Resource Provision at Wilmslow High School, Wilmslow

The nasen Award for 16-25 provision sponsored by Ambitious about Autism

Abbots Lea School, Liverpool

Provision of the Year Award sponsored by Axcis Education

Prince Albert Primary School, Birmingham

The nasen Award for Co-production with Children and Young People and their Families sponsored by The Seashell Trust

Bright Heart Education Ltd, London

Young Person/Youth (up to 25 years) Achievement Award sponsored by Thrive

Marcus Wilton, Warrington

SEND Leader of the Year Award sponsored by National Education Union (NEU)

Matthew Rooney, St Giles School, Nottinghamshire

Learning Support Staff Member of the Year Award sponsored by Access 1st

Lydia Hyde, London

nasen Teacher of the Year Award

Jon White, Clare Mount Specialist Sports College, Wirral

The Innovation Award for Technology

Derwen College – ‘Digital Support Work’ project, Oswestry

The David Ryan Publication Award

The Suffolk SEND Partnership - ‘Post 16 Transitions Guide’, Suffolk

The International Provision of the Year Award

The British School New Delhi, India

nasen’s annual awards campaign usually culminate in a special banqueting ceremony in central London. However, due to COVID-19 restrictions, this year’s announcement has taken place online via a video announcement and social media campaign #nasenwinners2020 @nasen_org.