Skip to main content
Pair of glasses resting on a newspaper

SEND reforms to be trialled across England


Thirty-two regions across England have been selected to trial the SEND reforms detailed in the SEND and AP Improvement Plan. The trials will inform the development of new national standards aimed at addressing the consistency of provision for young people with SEND across the country.

The areas are:

  • East Midlands: Leicester, Leicestershire, Rutland
  • East of England: Bedford, Central Bedfordshire, Luton 
  • London: Barnet, Camden, Enfield, Islington 
  • North East: Durham, Gateshead, Hartlepool, Stockton on Tees 
  • North West: Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Trafford 
  • South East: Brighton, East Sussex, Portsmouth, West Sussex 
  • South West: Gloucestershire, Swindon
  • West Midlands: Herefordshire, Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin, Worcestershire  
  • Yorkshire and Humber: Bradford, Calderdale, Leeds, Wakefield 

Alongside this announcement was the addition of seven new free schools awarded funding. 

  • Merton -120 place all-through in Morden
  • Norfolk - 170 place all-through in Great Yarmouth
  • Norfolk - 100 place all-through in Downham Market
  • Kent - 250 place all-through in Swanley
  • Kent - 120 place all-through in Whitstable
  • Cambridgeshire - 210 place all-through in Fenland
  • Cambridgeshire - 60 place secondary in Gamlingay